PgMP Certification

                        PgMP Certification

                        Here are some answers to your basic questions about PMI's Program Management certification exam.

                        What is the PgMP exam?

                        PgMP stands for Program Management Professional certification. This is an exam offered by PMI (the Project Management Institute) for individuals in the project and program management domain. PMI is widely recognized as the leading organization working on the growth of the Project Management discipline. PMI started offering PMP certification for Project Managers in 1984. The PMP certification exam has grown in stature over the years. In 2007 PMI started a new certification exam - Program Management Professional (PgMP). A program is defined as a set of related projects with a common goal. PgMP certification is meant for managers with responsibility of runninng a program.

                        What are the pre-requisites to attempt the PgMP exam?

                        A PgMP aspirant must meet the following eligibility criteria:

                        1. You should have a minimum of four years experience in the discipline of Project Management and a bacheleros degree of a high school degree.
                        2. In addition you must have four years program management experience if you have a bachelors degree or seven years of program management experience if you have a high school degree.
                        3. You need to clear the PgMP exam, which is a multiple choice exam conducted at a Prometric center. The exam tests the knowledge and experience in the field of Program Management.
                        4. In addition, you also need to clear a multi-rater assessment. A panel will evaluate your competency to perform tasks related to Program Management.
                        5. You need to sign the PMIs Professional Code of Ethics

                        What is the fee for taking the PgMP exam?

                        The fee for PMI members is $1500, and $1800 for non-members. The fee to become a PMI member is $139 annually. So it makes sense to become the PMI member before taking the exam. You will need to clear the exam within one year of becoming the member.

                        Is there negative marking in the PgMP exam?

                        There is no negative marking. No mark is deducted for any incorrect answer. So you need to attempt to answer all questions.

                        How long is the PgMP certification valid?

                        PgMP certification is valid for three years. Within this period you need to earn 60 pdu's (Professional Development Unit) to extend the certification by another three years. One pdu is equivalent to one hour of structured learning in the field of of Program Management.

                        Upcoming Classes


                        • I took the boot camp last Monday thru Thursday and I passed my PMP, on my first attempt, on Friday afternoon.

                          Lorna Lavelle, PMP
                        • I took my bootcamp last week and passed the next day. My instructor was easily one of the best instructors I've ever had.

                          Timothy Hopkins, PMP
                        • I leveraged the course as somewhat of a capstone to my preparation period. I took the exam the very next day after the boot camp ended, and passed.

                          Acie Slade PMP



                                              Second-hand housing

                                              Foreign exchange




                                              Buy a car